Paper Forever

Kill Internet Nuisances Demand Literature Eternally. Never Original Objective Keepsake. E-ternal Book.

As you can tell, I hate “E-books.” Any and all forms of them. Kindles, Nooks, even iPads. Pretty much anything that takes the original beauty of a leather-bound book and traps it under a cold screen.

I felt that this was appropriate for a first real post because of how important traditional literature is to me. Those of you who know me, know that I would rather be dead than read off of something electronic. Those of you who don’t know me, by all means buy me an E-book. See how fast I crack it back over your head. Below is an article that I wrote for Newsday a while back about the rumored death of print journalism. While I would love to be greeted by paper books as I enter Barnes & Noble instead of a Nook station, I understand that not everyone shares my beliefs in leaving some things traditional. Breaking free of the modern times where technology seems to strangle everything honest and simple is something I would love to change. Until then, I will continue to be a proponent of print journalism and literature.

Cheers,

The Duchess of New York

EXPRESSWAY: Rumor’s of print’s death are greatly exaggerated

Published: April 24, 2009

By JENNIFER FAUCI 

Next week, the Senate Commerce Committee will hold hearings on the struggling newspaper industry. While some believe that the good ol’ newspaper has only a few years left on the breakfast table, it is one of my firmest beliefs that newspapers will never die out.

True, the Internet is much more popular and very accessible for obtaining information, but have you tried surfing the Internet while you eat your bagel and drink your coffee as you ride the train to work every morning? You can’t read the news on the Internet and expect to relax the same way you do with a newspaper. There’s a certain spark that ignites between the human touch and physical objects, and you don’t get it from looking at a computer screen. With the morning newspaper in their hands, it’s as if readers develop stronger ties to every story, every picture and every line on the page.

Not only are newspapers going survive, but magazines and books will prevail, too. People will always have the desire to cuddle up with a good book and immerse themselves in a story that takes them away from the life they know. Let’s face it – it’s not likely that best-selling authors are going to just start uploading their stories onto the Web. Bookstores will always serve as havens for those who want to escape the world of technology.

Although most magazines have Web sites, you don’t get the same effect looking at them as you do sifting through their glossy pages. The pictures, layouts and advertisements are more appealing to readers when they can turn the pages to see what’s next. Personal stories and advice pieces seem warmer and more heartfelt when they’re told on paper instead of with the click of a mouse and a cold, stiff computer screen.

The anticipation and excitement of receiving an actual issue – whether a magazine every week or month, or a newspaper every day – is a feeling that can’t be found by just looking at a homepage.

News is news is news is news. No matter what form it comes in, people will read about it, today, tomorrow and the next day. People think that my technologically obsessed generation, which lives and breathes the Internet, will be the executioners for newspapers. But not even our infatuation with the World Wide Web will kill off newspapers, magazines or books because too many people like to touch what they read.

The level of personal comfort and connection between reader and reporter will always be closer when what you are reading is right at your fingertips. So before we dig the grave for print, remember the feeling you get when you pick up a paper and enjoy it from cover to cover.

There’s no other like it.

Cheers,

The Duchess of New York

1 Comment

Filed under Rants

One response to “Paper Forever

  1. ericglover

    I totally agree with what you said about books! I haven’t had any desire (yet) to read a book on a Nook, Kindle, or any other electronic device. I must say, though, that I do enjoy reading all my news on my phone… I have four apps for news alone. It’s really convenient. I was never into reading the newspaper though, so that may have something to do with it.

Leave a Reply

