Proud of You Mom…

Today at Jerusalem Ave School in Bellmore, Nassau BOCES honored it’s many employees who have given 15-45 years of service in the field of education. I am proud to say that my Mom was among them.

Upon entering the lobby, a woman at the desk asked me if I was an honoree or guest. I’m not going to lie, I’d look pretty damn good for working 15+ years, (if only I could get a job and START that process). I flipped through the program and saw dozens upon dozens of men and women who have committed their lives to this one place of work, this one career. I am used to seeing my name in one of these pamphlets, for an award, scholarship, graduation, or some kind of recognition. For once, I was happy to see my mom’s name printed there instead of my own. That entire list of people, they are the eyes and ears behind school teachers, principals, and administrative faculty members. Some are even retired members of said positions. They are the ones who run the schools behind the scenes. When it comes to standardized testing, school budgets, restructuring the curriculum, delivering regents tests, or simply working every day to ensure the best public education has to offer, these people aid in those draining, but challenging responsibilities.

In recognizing these BOCES employees for their many years of work, we not only thank them for their professional services, but we ourselves are humbled by their dedication to a child’s education. Many of them are mothers, fathers, aunts, uncles, even grandparents.

One of the speakers ended the ceremony with a quote (being an avid writer and reader, I was thrilled), from the noted anthropologist, Margaret Mead.

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed people can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.” -Margaret Mead

That being said, I hope to be one of those people. My mom already is. She is a wonderful daughter, sister, wife, mother and friend. She is a diligent, determined, passionate individual who loves what she does for a living. I can’t believe she’s been doing it for 15 years. Mom, I am so proud of you. I know I never say it enough, but I am thankful for everything you have done, and continue to do for me. It’s not as easy as it sounds, but being at one company for 15 years and earning recognition for your hard work is inspiring and admirable. I’m so glad I got to see you receive your commemorative pin, which although should have a diamond in it at least, is still nice. Wear it proudly because you deserve it. Congratulations Mom. Here’s to the next 15. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Hopes and Dreams

3 responses to “Proud of You Mom…

  1. Maria F

    Jen, what a lovely surprise! I can’t say it enough that I am so proud of you as we’ll. I wish that someone at these companies that you send your resumes to can only see the talent that both your father and I see as well and would give you a job!

  2. Gayle Wenchell

    Jen what a beautiful article, Mom is always so proud of you. Gayle

  3. Susan

    Wow! Great article! Your mom really does make a difference for sooo many BOCES employees and LI educators. I’m so lucky to work with her. And with your great editorial skills, I know your turn to rock the world is just around the corner. Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

